Ruby Award

Soroptimist International of San Francisco

Ruby Award



The award was established by Soroptimist International of the Americas in 2010 to rename and replace the “Advancing the Status of Women”, “Women Helping Women”, “Women of Distinction Award”, and the “Making a Difference for Women Award”.

“The Soroptimist Ruby Award”, is named in honor of our first Federation President Ruby Minar. The award recognizes women who have significantly aided women and/or girls, through professional or volunteer efforts.

Soroptimist International of San Francisco continues to use the Ruby Award to honor San Francisco women who, through their professional and or personal efforts, are making extraordinary differences in the lives of women or girls. Honorees are women who have worked to improve the lives of other women or girls. Their work has had a significant impact and also inspires and encourages other women.

A ruby is also a deep red gemstone associated with wisdom, importance, vitality, strength, vivacity, power and love: all words embodying the strong and compassionate women who are our award recipients.

Do you want to nominate an inspiring woman for 2019/2020? SISFrubyawardnominationform-writeable


Past Recipients include:

2006- Aileen Clarke Hernandez – first NOW president and a long list of accomplishments, recently passed away

2007- Rev. Glenda HopeSafeHouse

2008 Alison LevineClimb High Foundation, inspirational speaker and trained women in Uganda to break the taboo of women guides up the mountain

2009- Congresswoman Jackie Speier

2010 Olga MurrayNapalese Youth Opportunity Foundation

2011-Jennifer Seibel Newsome– creator and director of Miss-Representation and two more conscious raising films, Girls Club Entertainment LLC, to teach woman all of the “jobs” in film making

2012- Martha RyanHomeless Prenatal Project

2013 Esta Soler Future Without Violence

2014- Sr. Marguerite- Gracenter

2015- Olga Talamante- Chicana Latina Foundation and also a long history of accomplishments

2016 Mayseng Saetern Asian Women’s Shelter

2017 Christine Armstrong – President, San Francisco Healthcare Business Women’s Association

2018 Amy Logan – President of the Board of the US National Committee for UN Women San Francisco Bay Area

2019 no recipient